Networking is Essential

As some of you may know, I have worked full-time from home and expanding my public relations company, Haute Candy, Inc. Over the last few weeks, I have done some serious networking, writing proposals and meeting with clients and potential clients. Which has played a major role in me not posting for two weeks, sorry.

Currently we have three active clients and at least two clients who work on a project basis. I can honestly say, that each client I have obtained has come in the form of some type of recommendation. This has led me to discussing the topic of networking, how to successfully network to use it for the growth of your business.

Effective business networking is the linking together of individuals who, through trust and relationship building, become walking, talking advertisements for one another.

 Here are 10 steps to successful networking:

  1. Keep in mind networking is about being genuine
  2. Ask yourself what are YOUR goals in participating in networking meetings
  3. Visit as many groups as possible that spark your interest
  4. Hold volunteer positions in organizations
  5. Ask open-ended questions in networking conversations
  6. Become known as a powerful resource for others
  7. Have a clear understanding of what you do and why, for whom, and what makes your doing it special
  8. Be able to articulate what you are looking for and how others may help you.
  9. Follow through quickly and efficiently on referrals you are given.
  10. Call those you meet who may benefit from what you do and vice versa.

Produced by Stephanie Speisman and based on her booklet “99 Tips for Successful Business Networking”

 

Needless to say a few of these items I can improve on myself. But, for the most part, networking has

come pretty easy for me, because I love to talk. So as mentioned, over the last few weeks I have come into

close contact with a few individuals who will be essential to my professional growth. Several clients have

turned me on to new and exciting projects and I have networked with Titans Coach, Jeff Fisher, and the likes.

Part of networking is being in the right place at the right time as well as your appearance. For instance, the

Jeff Fisher event was very laid back but still right after work. So many attended in what they had worn for

the day. So I had to fit into this category. Most people complimented me on my outfit, thus striking up

conversation. I also, ran into a young woman who we remembered me from my Haute Swapping for a Cause

benefit last year. Be on the watch for this year’s event, scheduled for September 18. The event will benefit

Second Harvest Food Bank of Middle TN and will take place during Hunger Action Month. This year’s event will

be great! We have secured a number of sponsors for the event, the Haute Lounge and gift bags, raffle items

as well as silent auction items. If you are in the Nashville area, you do not want to miss this!

 

About My Company

Haute Candy, Inc., (HC) is a boutique public relations agency geared towards the lifestyle, philanthropic and fashion genres. The brain child of Raynetta Smith, publicist and event planner, HC was created in 2006 as an opportunity for Smith to assist small businesses and the fashion industry in the Nashville community. Smith, has worked in public relations since 2006 for a nationally recognized PR firm as well as a nationally recognized University. Since late 2009, she has focused on HC, full-time, offering tailored events and public relations services to local organizations and businesses.

Today’s Outfit

A.B.S. Dress – retailed for $99, I got it at Ross for $19.99 (regular price). I absolutely loved the detail on the back of this dress!

Liliana Sandals – retailed for $49.99, I got them at Plato’s Closet (brand new) for $12

~Stay Haute~